Reflections on the Election

9 Nov

Hi Friends and readers.

Yeah, it’s been awhile since I last posted in my blog.  Hope you’ve been well. I think I’ll be getting back to this as it is a source of pleasure and happiness for me.  Hope you enjoy my writing as much as I enjoy writing it.

Let’s see, what’s been going on?

The Cubs Won the World Series!

So there was that – and that was cool.

We also just got back from visiting my son in California last week, and got to tour Tesla’s plant and spend an evening cruising the San Jose area in a Tesla Model S P85D with Insane Mode and Autopilot. That was cool too.

And then there was last night.  Yikes. Not so cool.

If you’re a friend on Facebook, you might have read this already – I wrote this with my thumbs into my iPhone sitting at my kitchen table at 5:30 this morning, in the dark, with a hot cup of coffee.  My reflections on last night.

A few thoughts on what is for much of America, a sad morning for our country.

First, we are better than one individual. What makes this challenging is the clear and present threats to the freedoms for minorities, for women, for the LGBTQ community, to freedom of and from religion and more. I truly hope that the ugly and bigoted rhetoric that Trump sowed on the campaign trail is just that – rhetoric. That said because the GOP holds all three elements of the legislative process, there is much to be concerned about here.

I am deeply concerned for our economy here and globally and the steady, if not stellar, recovery that has happened since the horrible 2008 recession.

I am also deeply concerned for our foreign policy and our national security. Let’s face it, a man who has this short of an attention span, this thin of skin, and who has demonstrated shockingly little knowledge of foreign affairs is very concerning.

Everyone is seeking a “whose fault is this” and I have my own view, starting with the profession of journalism, my college major, which has failed our country in its mission to report the truth and to not report that that is not truthful. I fear for that profession as well as our new President Elect has indicated that he would seek to change libel laws and limit the freedom of the first amendment.

I do think as well that the Democratic Party got way too wrapped into the paths of the inevitable. While earlier in the process I didn’t think that Bernie could have gone the distance in the general election, nor do I agree with his policies, upon further reflection, maybe I was wrong. We will never know.

There are a few truths about elections in America: first, we are passionate; second, there is no “undoing” the result; third, the result is what it is – all we can do is begin the work anew to shape our country in the model that fits our views.

This is my country and while I don’t like the result of this particular election, this is my country. I always have been and always will be a very vocal person in the political process and this election has only served to further strengthen my resolve to promote progressive and liberal viewpoints. If you don’t like that, your option is to tune out.

To those that voted for the new President Elect, congrats. Be magnanimous in victory, and know that success lies in the middle.

But know this: you reap what you sow. If this doesn’t go well, and I am deeply concerned it will not, you will only have your mirror to complain to.

America.

As you were,

Stew

americanflags

Leave a Reply

