Earworms

26 Mar

Ok, before you go all EWW! on me – the definition of “earworm” that I’m talking about is the internal “iPod” in your head that plays the music that gets stuck there.  This morning, I’m coming to you live from American Airlines flight 876, winging its way from O’Hare to Boston Logon airport – currently at about 37,000 feet over Lake Erie.  As much as I loved being unplugged over the weekend, here’s one spot I like being “plugged in”.

Anyway, over the weekend, I had the pleasure of experiencing a singing duo that we’d never heard before – Jackopierce – it is an acoustic duo, sort of Jack Johnson/John Mayer meeting Loggins and Messina – that was a big hit in the mid-late 1990s in the Dallas area.  They’ve recently re-formed and are touring again.  My friend Professor Troutstream and his lovely wife Molly invited us to join them for the show and I had a really fantastic, “music to the core” experience – goosebumps, tears in my eyes, the works – all for a band I’d never heard before.  The Professor’s favorite song was Vineyard and I’m getting the goosebumps again just thinking of that song – it is the band’s “encore special.”

That said, the earworm that I got from them was Please Come to Boston – the David Loggins song from the mid 1970s – their rendition of it was stirring – they slowed the tempo a bit and because they are two very talented guitarists, one of them played the “straight” chords and the other was playing a wide variety of triads and other “up the neck” chords that added a huge dimension to the sound of the song. And … well, I’m flying to Boston this morning.  That song has been stuck in my head non-stop since yesterday morning.

Last week, when our “Jewish experiment” group met to define our future as a community (“B’Chavana”), we got to talking about what is important to us – and while this should be as no shock to anyone, music is clearly one of the most important things to me in my life.  The ability to listen, to play, to sing.   I said in our meeting, and I fully maintain this thought, I feel that G-d speaks to me in music.  The incredible wash of good feelings, of stress relief, of balance, of … well, every good feeling, has me convinced that it’s G-d speaking to me.  Our little worship community is very musically driven – there are a mix of folks in it that when we get going, it is not unusual to hear 4 and 5 part harmonies on our liturgical music.  And that music sticks with me – “earworming” as it were, for an entire week.

Late yesterday afternoon, we joined our Rabbi and his wife at their home for a music jam night – RavMarc is a guitarist par excellence, and we had other members there as well as a few other friends – most of whom have been a part of B’Chavana at one point or another – Rachel and her husband, Anita and Don, Renee and David and of course Robin, and RavMarc’s wife Susan.  We played a big mix of folk music with a few of my acoustic rock numbers mixed in for good measure – with the group just sitting in a circle and singing.  So good for the soul.  I went to that last night with my stress-knot in my upper back (I get a kin in my upper back right by my shoulder blade from stress), and honestly, wasn’t in the mood to go.  Had work and business travel on my mind.  Well, we played and jammed for an hour, and at the end of the hour, I had no knot in my back, a bit of sweat on my body, and all was good in the world.  I do feel like I was again touched by G-d – coming through me and taking my stress away.  I slept great last night, and feel great today.   My only regret is that I hadn’t worked out Please Come to Boston to play with this crowd.  The harmonies would have been exquisite.  Not as good as Jack and Cary from Jackopierce, but damn close!

So where does this lead me?  Well, of course, every time I play, I know I have to play more.  I need to work on my songs, get more music, memorize more, etc.  I need to really devote a minimum of an hour or more of playtime a week – it is good for me, and of course, it’s great for my playing.   And, well, it brings me closer to G-d as well.

A thanks to the Professor, Molly, RavMarc, Anita, Rachel, and all those that rocked out with me this weekend.  I needed it.

As you were,

Stew

2 Responses to “Earworms”

  1. susan glazer March 26, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    there is nothing like being with friends and music. thanks for the ear worms!

  2. anitasilvert March 26, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Thanks, Stew, for your music, too! I was in a great mood as the evening went on, and the music is definitely the magic, the Spiritual, the Touch from beyond ourselves, whatever we call it. I have often played with Marc and Rachel and Chuck, but adding new voices, new repertoire, adds up to more than the parts added.Safe travels, friend.

Leave a Reply

