Ch-ch-ch-Changes …

15 Sep

I have found over my life (as I’m sure all of you have), there is nothing more constant than change.  The world, and life changes every day and along with that constant change, you have two types of folks in the world, generally speaking – those that embrace change and those that fight change.  There is some blending of course, but … well … read on:

Those that fight change seem to be always asking “well, why can’t it just still be that way?”  There’s a new piece of technology out, but they say “Oh, my old [whatever it is] works just fine.   Why do I need a new one?”  There’s a new way of doing things that’s more efficient, and they say “but the way I was doing it worked just fine.  This is the way we’ve always done things around here.”  There’s a new dynamic in society and they say “but it was just fine when I … a few years ago, why is that wrong now?”

Now, that all sounds very negative.  There is some good to be found in keeping things “old school”.  The new methods don’t’ always work, there is certainly plenty of risk in being an “early adopter” of technology (hello, Betamax??), etc.  Change-adverse folks tend to be traditionalist as well, and that can definitely be a good thing.

People who embrace change tend to be serial early adopters of ideas and technology.  They embrace a new way of doing things and seek to adopt and refine it.  New technology comes out and they buy it early, rather than playing wait and see.  When social changes comes around, they eagerly embrace it and adopt it.

And of course, that all sounds very positive, but …  serial early adopters of tech, well, often get the Betamax effect.  Early adoption of social change can brand someone as a radical.  Early adoption of new ways of doing things often turns out with “oh, the old way WAS better.”

That all said, I love change.  I love it when the seasons change.  I love new technology (though admittedly it took me a year to buy an iPad and two years to buy an iPhone.  I’m sorry, Steve Jobs.), and generally am a serial early adopter.  I am always seeking a better way to do things that is either more efficient, more effective, or just more fun.   And, well, I am all about social change as long as it is for the common good.  Change is how we grow.  Change is how our country adapts to a the world and the world to our country.

What prompted this post is that fall is a classic time of change – new school year, Jewish New Year, company strategy/budget time, the changing of the seasons, leaves changing color, etc.  There has been much changing around me recently both in my company, in my work assignments, at home, in my spirtual life, and more.  And like always, I am recharged and rejuvenated by the change.

Onward …

Stew

2 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-Changes …”

  1. carpetbagger September 16, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Harrison Ford said, “We all have big changes in our lives that are more or less a second chance.” But then, he was the guy who divorced his wife to marry the 23-years-younger Ally McBeal.

    Maybe Confucius had it right, “Only the wisest and stupidest of men never change.”

    Snap, snap, snap, snap, snap, snap, snap, snap…..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Think Different. « stewsbrew - October 6, 2011

    […] are many in this world who fight change at every turn (and I’ve riffed on that before:  Ch-Ch-Changes), who want to return to the old ways of doing things, who fight progress, who fight making our […]

Leave a Reply

