Hello world! Welcome to Stew’s Brew

15 Jul

Well, today is the day I start a new chapter in my life – blogging.  After fiddling around for ages on a huge variety of online forums, from special interest forums like cooking, cars, vacation destinations, etc., to being a true Facebook-junkie (hey, I get paid for it.  Really!), I’ve decided to give this outlet for my creativity a try.

I’ve always been drawn to the written word – as a little kid, I was a tremendous reader, and for the most part, still am (although my wife, Robin would say otherwise of late – too much computer, not enough book).  In high school, I started to really tap my writing skills, and found Journalism to be my calling.  In college, with two majors, one in Journalism, one in Political Science, it seems all I did was write papers.  I wrote for the Daily Iowan at school for a semester, and in one of my first jobs out of school – selling ad space for the Des Moines Skywalker (a lifestyle paper like the Chicago Reader or Village Voice, albiet on a Des Moines-like scale), I even wrote columns for that.  I love to write.

So, why did it take me until 25 years after I wrote my last Skywalker column to do this?  Great question.  Part of it is time.   Part of it is deciding what I want to write about.  I still don’t know that.  I just know I want to write.  I hope you want to read and to listen.

So, what will Stew’s Brew be about?  Life.  That’s it.  Sometimes, it will be big, pithy tomes about anything from a political topic to the new fallen snow on a Shabbat morning (I’ll probably republish that here, come winter – that was a Facebook note from a while back.)  Definitely there will be cooking to be found on here – recipes, pictures of meals, observations of fun times had with friends, etc.   There might be observations about business and the business that I am in, though I am considering a professional blog instead for that.  And most certainly, there will be just commentary about life as I see it pass before my baby blues (albeit a bit more nearsighted than in years past).

I have a few insiprations for this that I’d like to thank.  First, I’d like to thank my cousin, Tom Cox.  Tom is a blogger extraordinare, and if you haven’t read his writing, you are missing out – his blog, Carpetbaggery (carpetbaggery.com) is a fantastic observational and humorous blog – much in the same vein that I’ll be doing.  And, I’d like to thank my pal Chris Wright – while not an avid blogger, he’s also done it awhile, but as of last night he couldn’t remember his URL.  Ooops.  And finally, a work colleague, David Deal.  I like to call David the “Real Deal” as he is entirely the real deal – a social networking wizard, fantastic writer, and the crafter and keeper of iCrossing’s social networking brand, just by reading his blogs (and he has more than a few), and talking to him, I feel like I’ve found my voice at this point.

So, as they say, “watch this space for things to come”, “stay tuned for …” and, quoting Rocket J. Squirrel (of Rocky and Bullwinkle fame), “Now here’s something we hope you really like.”

As you were.

Stew

7 Responses to “Hello world! Welcome to Stew’s Brew”

  1. Becky Cunningham July 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    I’m glad you’re doing this! I wonder when you’ll finally write that novel that’s been rattling around in your head?
    —Your sister, your fan

    • Stew's Brew July 15, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Thank Becky … it’s been a long time coming. We’ll see where it goes.

  2. carpetbagger July 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Wow. I’m humbled, and chagrined. Looking forward to reading you here since I spend very little time on Facebook except to respond to messages and tags. Blog on, my brother (cousin)!

    • Stew's Brew July 16, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      Yeah, I see the chagrined thing in your blog – well, glad I could send my muse to stand on your shoulder and kick you in the ear. Just make sure to send her back to me when you’re done.

  3. David Deal July 16, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Congratulations, and thank you for the kind words! I can already see that you understand one of the benefits of blogging: creating a connection with others by sharing more about yourself. And I look forward to learning more about you through your blog.

    • Stew's Brew July 16, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      Thanks David! Yes, it is a bit cathartic, most certainly gives me that creative output buzz I was craving, and I’ve obviously noticed that once I get rolling on a topic, it is hard to be brief. Gotta work on that brevity thing.

  4. Mitzi M July 16, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Signed up to follow your blog….looking forward to a fun & interesting ride…thx for sharing!
    Mitz

Leave a Reply

